Let’s pray that foolishness isn’t contagious 

…because I’m exposed to too much of it at work. Every single manager is either too lazy, irritating or just downright incompetent. 

This exchange happened today:

Me (to manager): Can you call a cleaner because there’s water on the floor.

Manager: There’s no cleaner anymore because the customers have gone. 

Me: (looks up to see…customers)

Manager: You’re going to have to get tissue to clean it. 

Me: 

I was really just thinking, uh, maybe you should come and clean it. Apparently the safety of workers is of no concern to them. They treat us like animals. It’s disgusting. What if it wasn’t just water on the floor, but vomit? Would I be expected to get tissue and clean that? These people have no shame. At least once per shift I find myself ranting about how fucking stupid they are. They walk around all high and mighty while doing nothing.  It’s infuriating and I can barely stomach it.  The amount of self control required by me to not tell them all to fuck off. Instead I do that ‘far away gaze’ when they walk past and just act like I don’t see them. I’m really good at that gaze. They just scream people’s names across the shop floor like we are pets. It’s embarrassing and demoralising. 

I seriously need a ‘Don’t Talk To Me’ name tag. 


Written for the prompt ‘Folly‘ – via http://wp.me/p23sd-13bS

Leave a Reply

