writing

The aspiring writer cliché.

When I was a kid I used to want to be a writer. I also wanted to famous and an actress, so yeah, I wasn’t the most headstrong person in terms of future career choices (not that there’s anything wrong with them, I just like my sanity). Mostly I was just interested in learning and then I hit puberty and realised that school was stupid. Just kidding. Anyway, my path isn’t really heading towards writing. At least not the kind that of writing.

But hey, everybody wants to be a writer, right? And in some cases, we kind of all are writers in some way. I am the author of several rambling long diatribes all over the internet, and I spend a lot of time writing but the problem is finding the time (or the will) to sit down and actually write. Write something that could one day be actually bound into an actual book, or put into a PDF or illegally downloaded by people on the internet.

I’ve written well over a million words of fanfiction, but in some ways that almost doesn’t really count for me. It’s kind of like taking the same stepping stone over and over again. In the time that I’ve amassed two short original stories and one that I keep meaning to finish but can’t really bring myself to. So, it could be that being an aspiring writer is my limit. In some ways, there’s no such thing as an aspiring writer, but rather writers aspiring for recognition. I’m kind of past that now. Not that I wouldn’t try to monetize a book if I ever managed to write one (I need money, man) but I’d actually just be content with finishing something and being proud of it.

On the flip side, I am sort of tempted to try my luck with some kind of vampire based trilogy because apparently those are still popular and idiots in Hollywood are still throwing money at them, and as one succinct comment put it, ’12 year olds rule our economy’. I can’t remember the last book I read that actually impressed me. All books these days seem extremely desperate to have some kind of shock ending, or you know a shockingly terrible everything complete with Amazon reviews bought and paid for by the publishers. However, there are actually some talented writers out there who don’t do it for the money, and it kind of shows.

Of course not every book is terrible but given the growth of the digital market, publishing a book is extremely easy these days. Editing isn’t cheap. Ideally, it would be cool if someone could set up a kind of social media book beta swap kind of thing, but I have enough experience with that to know that the main issue is that people suck. It’s kind of dog eat dog and people are more than happy to take without giving, so it’s better that people just try to help themselves at this point. Or, you know, networking, blah, blah, I’m sure someone more qualified than me has a seminar to sell you on networking (guh, I even hate the damn word).

Anyway, I’ll probably keep trying to write my novel. I do get people telling me to write something and compliments on my writing, so I’m good on that end. As it stands, I’ll probably try and work on technical, field-based writing for now (still in need of money), but hey, I just might write a vampire trilogy instead.

4 thoughts on “The aspiring writer cliché.”

  1. I was in the same boat a few years back. I was always aspiring to be a writer but never got around to publishing. It took me thinking what I’d regret if I died tomorrow to realize that publishing something was really high on my To Do List. 6-8 months after that I published my first book and just this passed December I published my second book to the series. I never went into writing for money but for my story to be share with people that enjoy YA Fantasy.
    When you’re ready to take the next step you’ll know but until then there isn’t a rush. With online publishing so easy to do, I only see it getting easier.
    As for places similar to a “social media book beta” consider checking out Inkitt. At the moment it is a small community but so far I’ve considered it a good place to checkout. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi! Thanks for the comment. Congratulations on publishing your book series!! I often have that thought – I will regret it if I never finish at least one major story that’s completely my own. I have a short story now that I’m proud of but surprise surprise it’s unfinished. My main goal is to finish that and then expand on it. I think somehow the fear of having this huge document is what puts me off so I’m going to try and break it down a little. 😉

      I’m definitely interested in online publishing, so I’m excited that it has taken off really well of late. And I will be checking out Inkitt! Thank you for the suggestion 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve been through the whole online publishing thing so if you ever have any questions just ask. I’d be happy to help out wherever I can. Good luck with the story. I hope it works out for you. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

