an unfortunate pissing contest (jusjojan | 19.)

Today (20th January 2017) marks the day of Trump’s inauguration. I am not American so I will not be watching. Not only that, I do not care. The media really wants me to care but I don’t. 

I have watched both (all?) sides engage in an unfortunate pissing contest that doesn’t help anybody. The media reports on each Trump tweet with glee and a subtle kerching. People create memes and treat it like it’s a big joke. It’s bizarre but very American, so there’s that at least.

Meanwhile in my country, we have a tyrannical Prime Minister who seems to have our worst interests in mind. I’m talking ’bout the mess that is Brexit.

It’s all a bit rubbish, really.

And then, I saw this tweet from a black singer who will be singing at the aforementioned inauguration. 

The replies to that tweet… Yikes

I get it, sis. You need to pay the bills. There’s no need to patronise the black community with a post that could have been summed up with ‘All Lives Matter‘. 

Yes they do, but, given that phrase was used to dismiss valid concerns by black people, I don’t care for it.

If you believe that all lives matter then BLM should not bother you.

To get back to the singer, her reasoning was flawed for many reasons. You cannot attempt to reason with people who get so mad at people who are trying to fight for themselves. You have to wait for them to come to you (or, as it is in most cases, sit on your hands and refrain from whacking them with a frying pan). You have to wait for them to want to cast away their bigotry. To see blacks and other ethnic minorities as their equals.

I don’t see that happening anytime soon. 

Do you?


Written for the Jan 19th prompt of Rubbish (link).

4 thoughts on “an unfortunate pissing contest (jusjojan | 19.)

  1. Indeed, it’s going to be an uphill battle for the US. (I’m in Canada, so sitting on the sidelines looking in, aghast, has been a preoccupation of mine, too. But there was no way in hell I was watching the inauguration today.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Honestly, I’m still not sure that some Americans have come to grips with everything. From celebrities going toe to toe with Trump fans, to the media treating Trump like he’s a Kardashian, to the praise for Meryl Streep’s (IMO, unhelpful) Golden Globes speech, the lack of self awareness is telling. The irony is that it’s oddly not surprising that the US is a country where being a celebrity means you have enough clout to be President.

      It’s going to be a long four years. I expect the levels of “trumpgret” to increase too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

