Voter Regret: sometimes a win isn’t always a win

Donald Trump and British politicians have proven one thing in the past year. 

Being successful ain’t all it’s cut out to be for the people who have to deal with the consequences.

Let’s start with Trumpgret, the cold feeling occupying those who feel betrayed by The Donald.

The regretter: This woman

She says that she began to feel regret during a sixty minutes interview because:

He backtracked on one of his signature campaign promises: pursuing an investigation into the Clinton email scandal. It’s not that I want Clinton to be crucified or “locked up” — it’s the nonchalance with which he went back on his word after hammering it repeatedly during the campaign. The ease and quickness with which he reversed his position shook me to my core. I realized in that moment that I had voted for a demagogue. And it was sickening.

Look. At this point, Trump had backtracked so many times with the exact same nonchalance that seemed to shock this woman. Remember birtherism? Hello. He tried to blame that shit on Hillary without a sense of irony. Punishing women who had abortions? He backtracked on that. He is the backtrack king.

So excuse me when I ask: where the fuck have you been?

Anyway, dubious tone aside, this woman pretty much stops pretending that Trump backtracking is her issue.
She reveals that she voted for Trump because:

he promised to repeal and replace Obamacare, and that was the most important issue to my own life.

A little selfish maybe, but fair enough.

Looking back, I realize what a mistake it was. I ignored the pundits who repeated over and over again that he would not follow through on his promises, thinking they were spewing hysterics for better ratings.

…as opposed to the hysterics spewed by Trump himself.

Sitting on my couch, my mouth agape at the words coming out his mouth on the TV before me, I realized just how wrong I was.

One has to wonder if she reacted the same way to Pussygate.

He has shown himself to be guilty of all of the same things he accused Hillary of — lying to the public, refusing to do press conferences, putting himself and his business interests above the American people.

He showed all of this WAY before November 8th.

Girl, where the hell have you been?

Trump’s retaliatory and impulsive behavior, which I think I assumed was a campaign tactic, have carried over into his actions as president-elect.

…uh. I can’t honestly believe this. Heck, it was behaviour he displayed on freaking Celebrity Apprentice.

She then goes on to say:

I know I’ll be ridiculed for voicing my regret.It’s not easy for me to come forward and say all of this. I feel humiliated already, and I know that going public with my story will open me to ridicule.

While I’m not really convinced that she’s truly humiliated, I think it is still brave of her to share her regret. She will probably be the first of many.

Moving onto Bregret…

There are two categories here

  • Those that regret voting remain.
  • And those that regret voting leave. 

First, we have this person. 

I’m not even going to quote any of it because it was…nonsense. Everything they accuse people of was happening before that day of the vote. And they seem to excuse the behaviour of the other side. It’s a strange stance, really. To regret not being on the winning side. Hmm. 

And, on the flip side, we have data that implies that the amount of people who regret voting leave is quite substantial. There are some accounts of regret but I think I’d like my blood pressure to stay level. I’m keeping away from them.

Brexit is a different ballgame given that it isn’t going to happen right away. Personally, I think there will be more regret in the coming years. 

The truth is that no matter what you’re voting for, you can feel regret. That’s what happens when you vote without thinking about the wider implications. Like when I voted for Nathan Fillion for the People’s Choice Awards even though I couldn’t stand him. Did I want him to win? Not really, but I wanted certain people not to win more. 

People vote for people or one person because of one specific policy, while ignoring all of the others that don’t benefit them. They want to know how the vote will help them as opposed to everybody. 

And that’s fair enough. Selfishness is a part of everyone’s character. Some more than others. To go back to the woman with Trumpgret, she noted that:

He promised that he would be a president to all Americans, but all he has done is divide us.

That she’s only seeing this now is ironic, but the main lesson is that sometimes getting your own way doesn’t always work out. People enjoy the pantomime of elections. Let’s face it, it’s the only time when politics is interesting. It’s also when politicians lie. That people seem willing to eat this shit up until everything fades to a distant memory is funny to me.

When the buzz has died down and there’s no need for politicians to pretend anymore, one thing rings true – sometimes a win isn’t always a win.


This is a response to this prompt.

2 thoughts on “Voter Regret: sometimes a win isn’t always a win

  1. Fed up with all the talk about reducing immigration and being racist. Rubbish, due to the current EU policy we can’t let enough highly qualified workers from other areas of the world.

    Like

    1. That’s not true. The recent immigration figures published show that most migrants come from OUTSIDE the EU. The government wants to put a cap on those numbers also which is nonsense and undoable because they need the workers. People should stop blaming immigrants for one issue or the other – it’s petty and unhelpful.

      Like

Leave a Reply

