5 upsides of never being invited anywhere

1. It saves me from having to say no

I hate saying no. Even when I really need to, I won’t say it. This is why I am already the resident pushover at my workplace. Anyway, digression aside, it is always awkward when people invite me places and I just don’t want to go. Usually I can justify my reasons but ultimately all that runs through my head is this is the last thing that I want to do. 

2. It saves me money

I’m a cheapskate and I’m broke, so. I don’t have to pay for drinks or food or overpriced movie tickets. Instead I get to waste my little money on chocolate. What? I didn’t say I spend wisely

3. I get to spend time on myself

I’m high maintenance. I need a LOT of time to be me. And jam to 90s pop music.

4. It allows me to be an introvert in peace

The worst thing for me is feeling awkward around people due to social anxiety. I feel like I look wrong and that everyone is looking at me. So I will probably switch off halfway through our shindig and I hate that. It is the worst feeling ever to not be able to communicate because your brain needs to recharge and on top of that, I’m worrying about what a bunch of strangers think of me. 

I’m a party pooper, y’all.

5. I get to be weird without any judgements 

Weird. Quirky. Whatever. I pride myself on being who I am. When I manage to get over my hang ups, I sing to myself and walk into things and also talk to myself. Doing all of that in private is probably better for everyone. 

So, I’m happy for my invites to continue getting lost in the mail.

Leave a Reply

