Social Media Could Be What’s Making You Feel Lonely

It’s the weekend! Anyway, I read this article on Lifehacker and it rang true for me. Social media was designed to connect all of us but at times, it seems like it does the opposite. 
Sometimes I would go on it and wonder why I wasn’t doing the same things and why everyone seems to have a better life. It made me feel so fucking boring because I had nothing to say that I was doing. And then it became about doing things just so I could post about it. Even then, I wasn’t getting any notice. No one cared. Dramatics aside, social media just wasn’t good for my mental health. It would leave me tired and annoyed. I found myself angered by strangers, I wanted everyone to shut the fuck up. 

Towards the end (as in the end of regular usage), I would only read my own posts. So on Twitter, I’d stay on my profile or mentions and on Facebook, I’d remain on my profile. Luckily, Instagram took off after I joined and left it, so I had less to walk away from. 

It’s funny because I now have even less interaction with people but it doesn’t bother me anymore. Now I’m just free to live life without comparing myself to millions of other people. 

That’s one less insecurity to worry about. 

Leave a Reply

