Awkward Situations, Life

I’m a beacon of unwanted attention (#SoCS)

So, on Friday I got a call from this guy who I’ve only ever met once. He basically popped up next to me and started talking to me randomly. I was taken aback but it was after midnight and I was tired and just ready to get to the bus stop. We were walking through this shopping mall where I’d witnessed a serious incident a few days earlier so I was happy to have someone to walk with and I was talking to him. We are from the same place so he was asking me questions and so forth. 

And then he basically asked me out and I did everything but say no. I gave him my number but he was really weird about it. He didn’t take my name. He didn’t check to see if the call had come through on his phone. Only God knows what he saved me as. Random girl? Who knows. 

Anyway, he called me the next day while I was at work and one more time after that. This was before Christmas. 

Three months later, this dude has called me again. I didn’t pick up but…Uh, what the hell? I have this mental picture of him having contacts named ?, ?? and ???. Perhaps he just called all of them because he realised that he doesn’t have names. Or maybe I made a really strong impression, LOL. Either way it was rather random. 

It reminds of this one guy who would ALWAYS come up to me and ask my for my number. I’d give it to him and he’d be like, ‘Oh, I’ve seen you already’. I couldn’t work out if he was creepy, interested or just in search of anyone with an available house for parties (he was always really interested in my living situation, where I went to school. It was weird). It got the point that I had to change my route because he’d always come up to me. And that’s not even the worst part. He would call me constantly. Five, six times per day. It was basically harassment until he gave up. One time I accidentally answered and it was so bizarre. 

Another time I got a call from this guy who asked me how I was and then started laughing. I hung up. 

At this point, there are probably too many random dudes with my number. Before I was giving them an old number but one time the guy called me there and then and I had to answer questions about where my ‘other’ phone was. It was so mortifying that I just gave my real number. And so many of them call to make sure you have given them a legit number. It’s awful. Someone needs to teach me how to navigate through this shit. My game is all off. 

I seem to have a knack for attracting creepers and pervy, old men. Do I have some kind of Creeper Attractant ability or something? Ick. 

Men, please do better. Thank you.


Written for the SOCS prompt of ‘man‘. 

6 thoughts on “I’m a beacon of unwanted attention (#SoCS)”

    1. Most of the time I do but some of these guys can be odd. I’d rather give a number and escape safely than provoke someone. One time this guy started ranting at me and saying all sorts and I’d rather avoid any public humiliation, LOL.

      Like

  1. Oh dear. I’m with Jami. Give them a fake number and tell them your phone’s been acting up, which is why they’re not getting through. Or just totally ignore them in the first place. I dunno. I haven’t had to put up with that sort of thing since the ’80s 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. These dudes are persistent! It’s either I try and ignore them and they follow me or I take their number and end the interaction as quickly as possible. I agree that giving a fake number is best, tho, I’ll have to brush up on my improvisation skills 😂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

