C(ustomers) – #AtoZChallenge

This post is part of the A to Z Challenge!


This is a list of the ten things that apply to customers. Love ’em or hate ’em, they can be extremely frustrating.

1. Yes, I work here

I’m not picking things from the floor for the fun of it. Or fixing fixtures because I have nothing better to do. 

2. If you need it for tomorrow, it’s not my problem

I’m all about helping customers but…When it gets to the point where you’re telling me your life story…and expecting me to make the Earth move because you’re doing last minute shopping and implying my suggestions are apparently unhelpful…I lose interest in helping you.

3. No, I can’t just check the back

Most of the time, what’s there is what we have. And even if it wasn’t, the ‘back’ is a big room full of stock which takes time to search through. I can go up there for ten minutes and will these people wait? No.

4. You didn’t hear me because you weren’t listening

Ugh…This one applies to all of us.

5. I’m packing your stuff slowly because you dumped it in a mess

So, you’ve chucked your items onto the cash desk. It’s a huge tangled up mess and then you have the temerity to look at me and expect me to be a robot. I don’t think so.

6. Decide on your items BEFORE you need to pay

I’m not even going to comment on the fact that you should do this while shopping. While queueing up would be helpful. Instead, they come and spend forever deciding what they want and I’m just like, ‘can I scan your shit or nah?’.

7. Please look up the name of the item you’re looking for. Google if necessary. 

Bear in mind that I don’t know you. I don’t know that thing that you do the thing with. Bring a picture! Seriously, pictures are good. Looking at me like I’m the stupid one isn’t good.

8. If you drop something, pick it up. 

Yeah, just because no one was there to see you do it doesn’t mean that I didn’t see you do it. If two hundred people drop something and there’s two people in that section that’s a hundred times they have to bend down and pick up whatever the item is. That’s not good, is it?

9. Keep your belongings with you.

Keep your shopping with you. Keep your bags, your purse, your money, your CHILDREN! Please. It makes you feel bad when you lose something and it makes me feel bad when it happens on my watch.

10. Learn how to say hello

I daydream a lot. Barking a question at me will get you a blank stare. Questioning me from behind will probably get you silence. Just say hi. Wait for me to acknowledge you and then ask your question. It gives me time to gain my bearings and it gives you a better chance of getting the help you need.

Just to close, I will say that some customers are lovely and patient. And some workers are terrible.

Nobody’s perfect. Except for Chris Hemsworth. 😂

Anyway. Wish me luck with my job search, LOL.

2 thoughts on “C(ustomers) – #AtoZChallenge

    1. Yes, this!! I can take a minor interruption but typically the question comes with sequels, lol. The worst thing is when I’m with one customer and then two of three more converge in on me like I’m the only worker in the store. It’s like being a yo-yo! Whatever happened to waiting your turn?

      Thank you! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

