Are You Afraid of the (D)ark? – #AtoZChallenge

wp-1491171986366.jpg

A-Z CHALLENGE


I’m not afraid of the dark but as I discovered last year and in previous years, pitch black darkness freaks me out. My first experience was in a toilet at my former university. It was one I’d never used before and I believe the light were those eco friendly kind that go off of they don’t detect motion. So there I was doing my business and suddenly…

PITCH BLACK.

I panicked. Flushed quickly. Stumbled along until I found a sink and then got the hell out of there.

Fast forward to last year and I was just settling into my new room. I went through my nightly routine and turned out the lights.

PITCH BLACK.

Luckily, I had a mirror light so I used that but my reaction was basically: NO, NO, NO, NO, LET THERE BE LIGHT!

It’s not that I have a fear of the dark but rather fear of what’s in the dark. Like bugs. You know where bugs tend to do their most movement?

PITCH BLACK.

My phobia of insects has basically led to my…disdain of darkness. I need a slither of light at least.

Ironically, living in the city, there’s nowhere that’s truly pitch black so perhaps my perception of darkness is skewed. At home, I can walk at midnight and there are street lights, residential lights and lights, lights, lights and more lights. Last year when I was away, it was so dark that I was afraid that the trees would attack me.

I suppose that I’m going to have to stay a city girl forever.

Leave a Reply

