(H)ealth – #AtoZChallenge

It feels like there’s always some ailment that I’m struck by. Headaches. Back pain. Muscle strain. Random bruises. Itchy eyes. The flu. That nasty cough. Constant tiredness.

Each issue bleeds into the next and forms a vicious cycle that never seem to end.

Apparently, this is what being an adult is like. Popping enough pain medication to get you through the day. The latter is something I avoid on the account of popping enough back towards the end of my teens. I can’t remember what I was suffering from then, a combination of migraines and back pain most likely, but in the end I built up enough tolerance that nothing worked for me. After years of just dealing with whatever pain occurred, I am now able to take some pain meds and actually get relief.

Of course, the best thing is to find the root of the issue. That’s usually the job of health professionals but I’ve found that the very bottom of that chain just consists of dealing with symptoms. Fair enough, they do need to be dealt with but often, patients need to pass through the acute state and end up in the chronic phase before they can get serious help. That’s crazy. It’s part of the reason why I avoid the doctors like the plague.

The last time I went to the doctor, I sat there told him my symptoms and he looked at me like I was an idiot, never mind that I was sick and not in the mood. I had a slight chest infection, the kind that makes you cough so hard that your ribs hurt. He said that he could prescribe medication or I could wait a few weeks for it to clear up. I was just thinking what kind of foolish nonsense is this? It was like a smoke out kind of test. If I said sure, I’ll wait it out, that goes on my record and they may not even give me an option of drugs next time. So I said I’d take the meds. At the end of the day, who would pick getting worse or feeling shitty over medication that can help them feel better? No one, I hope.

Anyway, that’s part of why I avoid them. It feels like being on a conveyor belt where the doctors figure out how to put you through as quickly as possible.

So, I’ve turned to using the internet to diagnose my issues and if I didn’t have a medical (not medicine but medicine adjacent) degree and some basic understanding of everything, I’d probably live in a constant state of panic. In order to be as accommodating as possible, websites tend to group symptoms no matter how broad the underlying causes are. So an itchy throat goes from being not serious to a symptom of throat cancer. Is that really better than having your doctor stare at your patronizingly as they shuffle you out of the door? Yes and no.

For me, the internet has bridged that sense of isolation. I’m not the only one with back pain or those weird stabbing pains. Somehow, that tends to calm me down and make me feel less like I’m some sort of jellyoid human with bizarre problems. Or those little things that aren’t worth going to the doctor for but still require treatment. There are lots of different suggestions out there and stuff like that is where the internet comes in handy.

This is the most jumbled up and confused post but whatever! One more day of the A to Z challenge is done! I salute the people who did their posts beforehand. Writing day to day is hard.

2 thoughts on “(H)ealth – #AtoZChallenge

Leave a Reply

