A to Z Challenge 2017

(K)nowledge – #AtoZChallenge

346759fd81356f82c5f0449d00692e75

Someone once told me that I looked smart, as in intelligence wise. I didn’t really know how to respond to that. It’s not unusual, though. Tons of people tell me I’m smart but I always tell them that I am not smart.

There’s a difference between being knowledgeable and smart. For instance, I could probably tell you a bunch of random facts about my favourite sports team Manchester United. Or even, say, a particular TV show. I enjoy finding out new facts and reading about things. Wikipedia is my shit. For whatever reason, my ability to retain these facts is good. However, that doesn’t mean I’m smart. It means that I’m good at understanding what I read. 

A smart person connects all of those facts together and uses them to get ahead in life. I… did not do that. I was gifted as a child but sadly that did not translate to my adulthood. Call it distraction, lack of focus, confidence or effort but for some reason, I am only good at what I’m really interested in. Sometimes I can be interested in it but my brain refuses to retain the knowledge for written regurgitation in a two hour exam. In a way, that’s the problem. The best way to unleash my knowledge is to let me sift through it and then present an answer. Even a conversation is fine. Exams…Well, I just completely fell apart in them. I used to find them easy. Or maybe it was that I didn’t find them difficult because I was confident in my ability to retain the information I needed to answer the questions. 

Obviously, the older you get, the more there is to learn and the harder it is to remember it all. 

Clearly, I’m not smart. I’m just a good information collector. Yup. *nod*

Anyway, being smart is overrated anyway (not really, but I’m trying to make myself feel better). 

Leave a Reply

