A to Z Challenge 2017

(M)oney, money, money – #AtoZchallenge

It’s a rich man’s world.

Seriously, the rest of us don’t even matter. We talk about freedom and free speech and doing what you want, but what do you need to do any of those things? Money. Money dictates our laws, what we buy, what we eat. 

If you don’t have money, you’re basically irrelevant. I mean, social media is an indicator of that. There’s the girl that always has the designer clothes, bags and shoes. That friend who’s always jetsetting. The celebrity that has money to promote their tweets in order to make even more money to promote even more tweets. Celebrities in general. They don’t become famous overnight. Nope, money goes into them and voila. They’re suddenly more important than the rest of us. 

By contrast, all I tweet is a few half-hearted sarcastic comments and links to my blog. In the past, I would I’d put a lot of effort into it but now, no. After all, there’s nothing to gain. Replies, follows and whatever will never be converted into a currency for me. 

At best, I’ll find myself working for too long, for too little pay for the rest of my life. I’m not okay with that, but right now, the opposite seems like it isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. 

Gold-diggers get a bad rap, but if you think about it, the smart ones know what’s up. Who needs happiness when you have money? It’s worked out great for Melania Trump. By the way, smart gold-diggers set up their own bank accounts and make sure they have that they have their own identity. The not so smart ones hashtag their lives with #wifey and don’t realise the benefits of having their names on deeds. 

So, to sum it up, without money, you’re basically nothing but a pawn in this rich man’s world. 

However, maybe that isn’t a bad thing. People with money always seem to have problems. Look at Donald Trump, over seventy, supposed billionaire, and clearly not content with his life. I’m sure his supporters think it’s great that Trump, with all of his cash, wanted to help them but they should be asking why? Why would a wealthy, billionaire pensioner want to saddle himself with such things?

Money obviously does not buy happiness. It’s buys idleness and emptiness. People with money always want something else. More money, or more power. Clearly there’s something about all of that green that twists people up. They lose their grip on reality and suddenly, everything is about status and showing everyone how much wealth they have. They don’t buy a 16 bedroom, million dollar house just because they can, but to show that they can. 

That’s not even the most messed up part. It’s that regular folk look up to this kind of thing. I remember reading a thread about buying expensive luxury items just because you could afford them. I was on the now why would I do that side and others were on the it’s my money side and no one could agree. I don’t get those people that work hard and waste their money on designer goods. One or two items, I can understand but everything designer? When you can’t afford your rent, your car and God knows what else? That’s just crazy.

To conclude, money’s kinda fucked up. 


My A-Z challenge theme is clearly random, but I’m still going with ‘Life‘.

Leave a Reply

