(N)oise | #AtoZChallenge

One of my biggest issues is that certain noises irritate me. If you’ve heard of misophonia, then you’ll understand. If not then… You’re lucky!

It started with chewing. I don’t know if it’s part of your body developing but one day I became aware that certain family members chewed loudly. I’m talking lip smacking, chomping all of that disgusting mess. I cannot tolerate it. Loud chewing makes me unbelievably irritable and angry. Even when I’m with friends, I have to sit there and carefully interest myself in something else because I can’t stand the noise of chewing. Even my own chewing irritates me from time to time. I have to eat quickly just so that I can’t get annoyed. 
It spiraled from there. 

Heavy breathing, sniffing, loud clearing of the throat, rustling. Whistling. Humming. Sometimes it can be people talking. Birds chirping. The sound of feet slapping in flip flops (ugh). Any irritating noise imaginable. People chewing gum recklessly is the WORST. Y’all sound like goats, can you shush.

It sounds ridiculous but it can set off a horrible chain of events in my brain and I can go from normal to extremely annoyed in about three seconds. It’s a full blown physical and mental reaction. 

Often, the first instinct is to get away from the noise but at times, you can’t. I remember having an exam one time and I think this girl kept on sniffing or creaking her chair. I was so agitated that I could barely focus. 

With chewing, I had to resort to music because it was so bad. These days, moving away or talking loudly so that I can distract myself can do the trick but often I just have to endure it until it stops. 

It seems like such a minor hindrance but it’s so frustrating to live with. I may have to invest in some earplugs. Like actually invest in the stock because I will clearly be needing a lifetime supply.

2 thoughts on “(N)oise | #AtoZChallenge

Leave a Reply

