stay in your lane

Hello, people. I am here to snark, rant, consciously uncouple my feelings, whatever you want to call it. 

Let’s just say that this post is about writing about bees. 

Writing about bees is common, people reading it is even more common. I could write two thousand words about bees and I’m sure everyone would love it. Bees are everywhere and anywhere and people naturally gravitate towards it. It’s popular with everybody. 
Everyone but me. 

See, I am not a trend follower. If I was, maybe I would have been a popular writer but I like to be different. I like to write what I would like to read. 


I’m also not sixteen anymore, so I need to be reading and writing things that interest me for longer than five minutes. 

So it’s very annoying when I take the time to write and share something and people respond with you need to write about bees.

I don’t need to do anything. What you need to do is stay in your lane or write about bees yourself. Or read other people’s bee writing. Of all the millions of writers out there, there’s a lot of stuff written about bees. Can’t I just have a moment in my own corner to not write about bees? 

Damn, people are demanding. 

Even when I do write about bees, I’m not competent enough to write about it properly. That’s partly why I don’t write about bees. Back in the day, I’d give it my best shot and be happy with it and some asshole would come along and screw that up. A few years back it all spiralled out of control and I lost interest in writing. 

Over bees. 

Eventually, when I got my interest back I said screw it. No more writing about bees. I’m going to write what I want and if one person reads it fine. I’d rather write something that I can read back someday than some embarrassing nonsense that I’ll never be able to look at again. 

Moral of the story: Don’t let anyone tell you what to do or how to do something you enjoy doing. It’s not worth the headache or misplaced anxiety. 

Anyway. Just a little rant. 

7 thoughts on “stay in your lane

Leave a Reply

