How To Write An Unpopular Blog

Unpopular is defined as: 

Not popular or liked

I have about 120 followers and I’ve had this blog for a year. 
Does that make me unpopular? I don’t know. 

Eventually, I’m going to give up on it. Probably. I’m sure something will happen in my life and I’ll just stop posting. Or maybe I’ll start over. Maybe I’ll keep going? Either way, I don’t think anyone will care. I don’t expect them to. We are strangers and my life isn’t particularly interesting. I’m finally okay with that. 

We fixate so hard on followers and who’s reading and whether we’re posting the right thing, how to get more followers and so forth. I’m usually running away from such things. With great success because I’m not that popular anyway. 

My other blog has roughly the same amount of followers and I’ve had it for almost six years. 

So I know what I’m talking about. I am an expert in my field. And today, I present to you a series of tips that will help you go from 100 to 0 real quick. Or stay at 100 forever.

1. Niche your content up 
My main blog was originally all about Supernatural and how much it sucked. That’s kind of rare on the internet. I tended to have the same group of people commenting and they weren’t WordPress users. So there was a small audience and small reaction. And the occasional dickhead. 

This blog… well. I have no idea what this blog is. I guess that’s why it’s wildly unpopular. 

2. Post fleetingly

By comparison, I have 300 posts or so on both blogs. Wait. Let me double check that. 300 here and 500 on my other blog. That’s roughly 80/year compared to 300/year. I can tell you that frequency of posting doesn’t make a difference. So, yeah. This tip isn’t great. Or is it?

3. Be bad at commenting

I suspect that this is my weakness, but hey man, I got shit to do. Well. Not really, I’m just bad at commenting. The main reason why is because in all of my years creating content, I have only started getting comments recently. So I’m used to just talking to myself. I get a comment and I freak out. Or I comment and freak out. I like getting comments but for many reasons they give me this weird anxiety. 

4. Be snarky

Snark doesn’t always translate well. I’ve been called bitchy, mean, blah blah blah. Y’all can suck it. I do what I waaaant.

5. Lose your niche, get into politics

Okay, NGL, the best time on my main blog was when I was doing a weekly Trump post. However, that was pure luck. I was linked on a political blog and almost all of the views came from there.  So. Yeah. Anyway, losing the niche is the way to go. I have no clear theme on my other blog, so I guess that’s why it’s in WordPress wasteland. Ditto for hiptobesnaaark. 

6. Be unlucky

WordPress is a weird place. I don’t fuss with followers or anything like that, but obviously it’s a huge part of this blogging thing. 

The stats page is the bane of my existence. Most of the time I don’t look at it, but sometimes I get weak. This blog has about 3000 views overall. That’s an average of whatever the hell 3000/365 is. Basically not a lot. That’s less than 10 views a day. My other blog has about 130,000 views, so that’s an average of 20,000 a year. By comparison I have 1400 likes here and waaaaay less than on my other blog.

I could crunch the numbers all day but to what end? 

Luck plays a huge part in what becomes popular and what doesn’t. 

Who really gives a shit? That’s always my conclusion. Unless you’re hoping to make money from it. In that case – give a shit. Be great at it. 

7. Ignore any humble and outright bragging

Humble bragging is one of those unfortunate traits some people have. You have most definitely seen it. They’re usually the ones who can’t believe how many followers or comments they have. Usually I just roll my eyes. If you have ten thousand followers and you can’t believe it – pinch yourself. Once you’ve realised that it’s true, knock that off and say what you want to say 

Example:

Wrong: I can’t believe that I have ten thousand followers! I have no idea why, oh golly gosh! (Idk if that’s an actual phrase but… it is now). 

Also wrong: TEN THOUSAND FOLLOWERS!! WHEEE, I’M AWESOME!!!!

Right: I’m so happy that I have ten thousand followers – it was unexpected, but appreciated. 

If you’re thinking she sounds bitter then shut up. Okay, fine, maybe I am. Not because people have more, but because this kind of shit is irritating. Just say that you’re happy. Don’t try to down play it. It’s the blogging equivalent of any Taylor Swift acceptance speech (my team spent millions of dollars ensuring that I won but OH GOLLY GOSH!). If you have the follow option and you’re posting content, racking up followers didn’t happen by accident. Be proud!

Outright bragging is just ugly no matter how you dress it up. 

8. Talk to yourself

No one else is reading anyway. 

9. Link your blogs to friends

If you’re lucky, you’ve befriended people who never blog. They will add to your unpopularity by never visiting your blog. 

10. Post regularly

I know. I had post fleetingly at number 2, but I am proof that posting regularly doesn’t make a difference. 

11. Write a passive aggressive blog post about your unpopularity

Well. Just thought I’d throw this in there. You know you were thinking it. 

12. Write for yourself

Forget all previous points and just do your thing. If people like it, cool. If they don’t, they don’t. Blogging isn’t about numbers (no matter how hard WordPress pushes them on you – f**k the Insights page). It’s about what you want to get out of it. 

13. Post shit that nobody else cares about

Like say, a weird obsession with some guy on Instagram that you sort of despise (but not really). Shout out to Bob!

14. Be weird

See #13

15. Be awesome

Unpopular doesn’t = not awesome, so. I have all the good logic here. 

16. Don’t waste time

I waste a lot of time on my blog. It’s time that I can afford to waste but it’s also to my own detriment. I know that on average, each post is looked maybe ten times. One view is good, but I could save myself a lot of time and just talk to myself. 

I could be doing something else. I know that you’re meant to stick at something, but sometimes I wonder what the point is. Not to say that my posts are amazing, but what is the point for me? Is it helpful or is that how I justify spending so much time on something that doesn’t really amount to anything. If I’m writing for myself why do I allow comments? Why do I engage (terribly) with others? Why don’t I just write in a diary? 

Here’s a line from my novella that will never be finished:

Each person arrives into this world typically screaming and crying. We want attention – it’s in our nature. What happens next is down to what surrounds us.
It’s true, isn’t it?

I think my blogs are a metaphor for my life. I am either shunned or known, but not regarded well enough for people to say hey I see you! I’m starting to see that it doesn’t really matter. How people see you isn’t the issue. How many comments you get is not the issue. 

The issue is how you feel about it. 

Some days it’s shitty, some days I don’t care. 

To my combined followers – I appreciate you! We are one. Or something. I’m not good at this mushy stuff. So. Thanks! 

51 thoughts on “How To Write An Unpopular Blog

  1. I like your blog :)I don’t know about you, but personally writing to me is a release. I have the power to say what I feel to strangers, and they can choose to like it or they can ignore it. You write beautifully, and your thoughts are collected. You are talented.

    Like

    1. Thank you! I agree – it is a good release. I just have a love/hate relationship with it. For the most part I’m cool with whatever comments and followers I get, but then you see someone else with more and there’s that seed of doubt. Which I’ll ignore from now on. πŸ˜›

      Aww, thank you so much for the kind words! ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I got almost no followers until I learned I was overusing tags and triggering WordPress spam filters. That’s another great way to write an unpopular blog! Unfortunately/fortunately for you, I love snarky posts and got tagged recently for a Liebster Award. The nominator encourages nominees to continue to tag posts with under 200 followers. I’ll probably not do the official post itself until this weekend, but I will be tagging you when I do. I enjoy a bit of irony with my snark, so maybe you’ll gain a few followers from my modestly less unpopular (169 followers in four months) blog because you broke all the popular girl rules. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Welp. I overuse tags ALL THE TIME. I didn’t realise you could trigger the spam filters. There I was thinking that I was being all hip. Lol! Aww, that’s very kind of you. I look forward to your post πŸ˜€ I also need to stop being lazy and read more blogs, I just happen to have the attention span of an ant. It’s sad. πŸ˜›

      Like

  3. I’ve learned that no matter how amazing, bizarre, well written, unique, relevant, or even if it just sucks, NO ONE reads a single expletive-of-your-choice post of mine on Thursdays. The other six days are fine. But a post on any Thursday goes into an ignored wasteland. (The weird thing is that I don’t read posts on Thursdays either).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is weird! I have a few days like that, but I’ve never paid close attention to see if it happens on a particular day. Hmm. The whole stats/comment system is a bit weird. I can get 13 likes and have maybe 3 views on the post. Supposedly they don’t count the reader stats. It’s also weird how I can write a 500 word post that’s liked two seconds after I hit send. Someone needs to start up a WordPress Mysteries blog!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Yeah, quantity seems to be valued over quality in WP Land. But, I do enjoy blogging. I have 57 followers after 18 months but I’ve only posted 34 times. I’ve still managed over 1,000 hits, so I guess I’m doing something right. Very nice post, I’m glad I read this. *SIGH* I guess I’ll follow you even though it might chip away at your indie cred.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. And now you have 58 after 18 months! Quantity over quality is only good when it rings true and not just someone trying to grab views. I keep trying to transition to posting once a week but apparently there’s too much nonsense rattling around in my brain.

      Thanks for the comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I can’t help it, I dissect words and paragraphs and when pnwprincess said “I like your blog :)I don’t know about you, but…” my mind stopped there, and had a laugh at your expense. Sorry, my brain translated it “Your blog? It’s OK, I think it’s good. But you? Maybe not so much!” It’s OK, it’ll probably get my blog un-followed for offending. My brain also occasionally picks and chooses what it allows to register in there, so you don’t even want to know what I laughed about when I read #10 about posting #2. When it comes to “#2,” as people refer to “#2” in child-potty-speak, that’s all I EVER post. But I write it to amuse myself, or to vent, so even if that’s what you feel about your writing, keep writing. It’ll get better, you’ll get more followers when people discover and recommend you, or not. I think I have 2 or so loyal readers who either love me or comment out of sympathy so I don’t get too discouraged. Either way, I love them back. Thanks for writing, it was fun to read.~DM

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I definitely write for myself! I’ve been through the popularity thing and I didn’t enjoy it. It’s just a shame that we’re all indirectly told that our worth is linked to how much people like us or how many followers we have. Hmm, anyway, I’ve followed your blog and look forward to you venting/amusing yourself. 😝

      Thanks for the comment!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. That sounds about right. Seems weird to just click like with no intention of reading it. I do sometimes hit like so I can find posts later (but I can’t count the number of times that I actually go back and read the post so I avoid doing that).

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Yay! I’m so relieved to find out that I’ve been doing it right. I’ve been unintentionally following nearly every one of your steps and have risen to an astounding level of mediocrity and unpopularity! Nice to know I”m in good company.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. We’ve all made it. We’re the real ones. The true winners. I’m being snarky but actually as someone who’s had a large following in a past life, I think I prefer the mediocrity and unpopularity a tad bit more. This was we get to say what we want! 😝

      Like

  7. Enjoyed this post! Chuckled a bit. It’s how YOU feel about it, so true. I post whatever tickles me at the time, and I am never not pleased to get a like or follow, but I’ve already moved onto the next thing, in my case, a funny or weird idea that I need to depict in cartoon form.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. “If you’re lucky, you’ve befriended people who never blog. They will add to your unpopularity by never visiting your blog.”
    “Wildly unpopular”
    Immortal lines. Looks like you’ve got it all taped up. And I thought this honour was mine alone. I am going to share this on my blog so that you become worse at staying unpopular. Only if I knew how to share…
    Super post.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Two years into blogging, I freak out when I get a comment too! It doesn’t feel like two years coz I don’t have an army behind me yet. That’s the goal, though, isn’t it? Tons of people just waiting for one post from you. I live for that kind of “The Following” (you’d love that TV show starring Kevin Bacon and more importantly James Purefoy). I’ve rambled on and on. That’s a tip to lose followers too.
    Ooh, also, I just followed you πŸ˜€ Can’t wait for more snarky posts that make me smile.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve had a large following before and honestly, all it does it cause problems. People either love you or hate you. So you either have to detach yourself from your followers or try to hard to appease them. Hence why I’m embracing my lack of popularity. πŸ˜›

      Btw, enjoyed the first season of The Following. The rest – LOL FOREVER @ Korban – not so much. It lost its way for me. πŸ˜‚

      Thanks for the follow!

      Like

      1. That is a different perspective indeed. I never thought about the pressure a large following has on the blogger. Agree with it completely.

        Following, well, yeah the first season was phenomenal. Which is only why I committed to seeing the next 2 seasons. But they were sub-par.

        It’s so cool to have found you on the blogosphere.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I find that so many shows run out of steam after the first season. Considering how many shows the commission, why not just have more limited runs and less long running series. Money, I guess.

        Aw, thanks. The same goes for you 😊

        Like

    1. Thank you! How many do you have? I am grateful for my 100-something! I don’t think having thousands of followers is any better when you can’t connect with all of those people anyway. They’re just a number. Life…

      Like

Leave a Reply

