the curious case of the social media narcissist

Otherwise known as…

Random Thoughts #48

Random Thoughts has been fleeting of late. Along with my actual thoughts. This is a Bob special because I had a rock induced meltdown over the course of his gazillion videos. I just couldn’t understand what I was watching. 

For those that don’t know, Bob = actor that I follow on the insta machine. He posts stuff and I snark about his ridiculous ways.

This is all very healthy and normal. I swear.   

Back to Bob

I can’t actually remember what he’s been up to so I’ll just start from the beginning. 

He saw some kind of UFO. 

A flying object in the sky. With lights. 

Alright. 

I’m starting to wonder if he’s all there. But whatever, he’s pretty. That’s the only reason why I’m still following. There’s no way I would utter this guy is an idiot on a near enough daily basis if there was no pretty. Trump being the exception. 

There was some video of him complaining that he walked into some cactus looking tree thing. I still don’t get this need to broadcast it. How does that work – TREE ATTACK, YO YO, GRAB MY PHONE, GOTTA LET ‘EM KNOW. As a founding member of the Clumsy Association, I detect false clumsiness. He probably hugged that tree. 

Before that he was jumping on some rocks. Sans shirt.

Me: his tattoo is ugly 

Also me: I hope he’s wearing sunscreen

Me again: why is his shirt back on

Also me: Why? Why is he playing music in the middle of nowhere?

Me: I’m not at the point where—

I cut off there and clicked out. Gonna skip to the next one because I have some self control. 

Me: The music is so unnecessary. *frantically lowers volume*

Also me: WHY IS HE ON A ROCK WITH A HIGH VANTAGE POINT. WHY IS HE FILMING HIMSELF ON A ROCK? I’M GOING TO THROW UP. 

Does that happen to anyone else? Seeing people on big heights makes me feel sick. 

The music sounds like Nickelback but worse. 

Me: Oh is he saying something? I really don’t want to listen to it over this music

Turns out that he’s just lip syncing along. Why do I do this to myself?

Me: *listens anyway*

Me: No, no and no and even more no

This is so fucking cringey. It’s beyond cringe. I’m at the secondhand embarrassment stage because he’s trying to show us where he is but he INSISTS on being in the video. So it’s just him silently holding the camera, swivelling it around so that we can see behind him. YOU’RE IN THE WAY. 

I wish I could show you but I don’t want to somehow get busted for ranting about some F-List Fauxlebrity. That’s not shade. Just truth. Lol. Sorry, Bob. Kinda. 

Me: Just post pictures!

*clicks on video and hears music*

Me: Just fuck off. 

And then there are pictures! UGH.  Like I keep on saying, Bob and I would be enemies. In fact we are enemies now. Enemies from afar. I’m the Kim Jong-un to his Trump. 

Wait. 

Okay, bad example. 

The Kanye to his Taylor Swift?

You know what, I’m the snark to his cringe. 

That’s better. 

Anyway, because I was bored I watched more. 

He was watching an episode of [insert procedural] that he just happens to be in. I start cracking up three second into the video, but not with him. More like at him. Dude’s acting is off the chain, guys. I have no idea why he was watching it. Is it recent? Let me check. It’s old. Now I have to go and watch the episode just for the laughs. 

I also just realised that Bob is in something I plan to watch. Total coincidence. In fact, it’s weird that he didn’t post about it. Unless I missed it. And that’s entirely possible. Or maybe he was cut out of it. I’ll keep you posted. 

Next up, we have some UFO sighting confirmation from Bob. Apparently a few other people saw it. My comment still stands. Snark doesn’t do takebacks. 

Lastly, we have some fashion critique about females who wear socks with sandals. It was an amusing clip and I actually agree with him. It looks awful and weird. 

That being said.

Social Experiment Progress Report*

Anyway, to sum it up, my time following Bob has been interesting. It’s been maybe five months? This dude staaaaays on Instagram. I can’t do that. Even if I had a brand to promote, it’s way too much. There’s no real purpose to it. That’s my biggest issue with Instagram. It’s just so pointless. Mine is skeletal. I have a ton of drafts that I just can’t be bothered to post. Coming up with captions and all of that nonsense is too time consuming. 

Back to Bob!

I don’t know that I’m going to follow his career or anything like that. My opinion of him is mostly pretty but painfully idiotic but he can be quite funny and charming at times. There is still something kind of weird about him that I haven’t figured out. The armchair psychologist in me is just watching everything with a raised eyebrow.

After five months, all I can tell you is that this guy loves to post pictures of himself. The only time I’ve heard him talk about anything of substance was when it personally affected him. Other than that, it’s hard to get a proper read on him. It’s generally about what he’s doing, who he’s with, what’s around him. And the most annoying thing is that he does post some nice looking places but then we only see it if we see him too. 

What he presents of himself isn’t all that interesting or particularly nice. And I know I’ve called him a narcissist a few times, but I don’t think he’s a complete narcissist. Just a partial one. Don’t ask me why. I think I get more of a this is all I know how to do vibe than a deliberate attempt to get more likes or views. 

Anyway, I don’t mind looking at his posts and videos because I know that they’re all staged and not a genuine reflection of life. However, I imagine that if people have 10+ Bobs in their feed, it would be harmful. We hit like and move on without thinking about the consequences. Sometimes I hit like because someone else has liked it. Does anyone get that feeling? Of course I’m a rebel and sometimes I hit like just to show someone that I’ve seen or read their post when no one else has. Is that harmful? Probably. 

Like culture is dangerous, but clearly it isn’t going anywhere any time soon. 

*I told you that I was following Bob for research purposes!

6 thoughts on “the curious case of the social media narcissist

Leave a Reply

